Savory Cookies

savory cookies

I love cookies.  The standards never get boring – chocolate chip, oatmeal,peanut butter etc…  But I had the urge for a savory cookie when I saw some rosemary biscotti a while back.  ( I made said biscotti and included them in this photo although I was not satisfied with the out come so you will have to come back for the updated recipe once I have tweeked it to be so satisfying).

savory cookies

The other two came out beautifully!  One I found on a site called grownupcookies.com.  This cookie is called Flavor Tango and is aptly named !  The other I adapted from a recipe I found on Design Sponge’s  ‘In the Kitchen With…’   These are a gluten free version of Leah Verwey’s Jalapeno Cheddar Cookies.  I just switched out an all purpose flour for a gluten free all purpose four.  I also used diced green chiles instead of pickled jalepenos – I knew my chances of sharing these with the rest of the house would be slim with the jalapenos : )

 

cheddar jalapeno cookies

GLUTEN FREE CHEDDAR JALAPENO COOKIES
1 1/4 cup gluten free all-purpose flour

8 oz block of extra sharp cheddar cheese, shredded

1/2 cup butter, room temperature

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon black pepper

1/4 cup diced green chiles ( the kind that come in the little can) or chopped pimento or go for the jalapeno !

INSTRUCTIONS

In a mixer or food processor, combine butter, salt and pepper until thoroughly blended.  In a separate bowl mix together flour and cheddar.  slowly add flour and cheese until dough clears the sides of mixer.  Don’t over-mix.  Then fold in jalapenos.

Next, shape the dough into a disc, wrap in parchment or wax paper and chill for about 30 minutes.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

On a floured surface, roll out dough until it is about 1/2″ thick.  Using about a 2″ circular cookie cutter or glass cut out circles and place on parchment-lined baking sheets.  Bake in the center of the oven for about 13 minutes or until cookies are golden on top.

*Caution, these are so tasty and hors d’eourvey that you may over do it.  They are pretty rich what with the cheese and the butter. (sosatisfying snacking)  They also store well in a container with a tight lid.

 

savory cookie

A FLAVOR TANGO

 

1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened

2/3 cup sugar

1 large egg

2 tbls lemon zest

2 tbls lemon juice

1 cup all purpose flour

1/2 cup cornmeal

1 tsp baking pwdr

1/2 tsp coarse salt

1 tsp cayenne

INSTRUCTIONS

Preheat oven to 375

Cream butter and sugar.  Mix in egg, lemon zest and lemon juice.

Stir together dry ingredients and mix with egg mixture.

Make teaspoon size balls and place 2″ apart on parchment lined baking sheet.

Bake for 12 minutes or until bottoms are golden brown.

The beauty and excitement of this cookie is that at first bite and first chew you are tasting a sugar and lemon cookie. Mmm, but then the cayenne pops up and takes you by surprise in a way that makes you want to do that again.  Fun and indeed ‘grown up’.

Special thanks to Kelly from Grown Up Cookies !  I can’t wait to try some of the other unique cookie recipes ; )

 

 

About sosatisfying

I grew up a vegetarian in So Cal. I lived for quite a few years in NYC and now I live in Atlanta, GA. I guess these various regions have had an affect on my cooking/eating style. Mexican food is certainly my comfort food - the more down home the better. Italian is my daily bread. And I love greens, grits and anything made better with Vidalia onions.
This entry was posted in Savory and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Savory Cookies

  1. Kelly Cooper says:

    Thanks! They look great and thanks again for the kudos.
    BTW, I added a biscotti-like cookie, a bit different, to GrownUp Cookies today.
    Kelly

Leave a Reply

