Arugula Pesto

arugula pesto

I know there’s all kinds of pesto going on out there but this one is really quite classic.  I was inspired by the price of arugula vs the price of basil.  There is a short time of year when basil is abundant but the rest of the time it can be quite costly.  So this recipe takes 1/2 and 1/2 basil and arugula and you may not even know the difference from all basil pesto.  I also used pistachios in place of pignoli nuts because they were cheaper.  The flavor is delicious and the pesto is a really rich green.

1 bunch basil trimmed, washed and slightly chopped

equal amount arugula, washed, slightly chopped

1 clove garlic

a handful of pistachios

olive oil

put everything in a blender or food processor with 1/4 cup of olive oil. While it’s blending you can continue to add more oil til it’s a nice consistency.

pesto bowl

I like pesto on linguine or spaghetti but you can do what you want.  You can’t go too wrong.  After cooking the pasta toss it in a touch of olive oil then the pesto.  Of course you can spread it on Italian toast slices or use it inside ravioli.  It is versatile and stores well in the freezer if you make too much.

About sosatisfying

I grew up a vegetarian in So Cal. I lived for quite a few years in NYC and now I live in Atlanta, GA. I guess these various regions have had an affect on my cooking/eating style. Mexican food is certainly my comfort food - the more down home the better. Italian is my daily bread. And I love greens, grits and anything made better with Vidalia onions.
This entry was posted in Raw Veg and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

