Breakfast Potatoes

breakfast potatoesA lovely little breakfast !

I like to make extra potatoes any time I make baked or mashed or barbecue or whatever, and I stash a few in the fridge for breakfast potatoes the next morning.  There so easy to whip up once you have the cooked, cooled potatoes.

Pretty much one potato per person and a half.  Anyway these never seem to have any leftovers no matter the odds.

You will need:

cooked ( baked, boiled or otherwise)  potatoes, cooled and cubed (large cubes. More like neatly squared chunks)  Idaho or the small red bliss seem to work best.  The yukon tend to get a little slimy.

onion, diced

red bell pepper, diced (optional)

paprika

salt and pepper

olive oil

Put all the above ingredients in a skillet on med heat and keep an eye out.  There is a fine line between well done, yummy, crispy and burnt.

* I sprinkled some fresh parsley on at the end for color.  Not necessary but if you have it why not?

** also shown in the picture, a fried egg on toast with sliced tomato and a cup of tea.  Really very upstanding breakfast : )

About sosatisfying

I grew up a vegetarian in So Cal. I lived for quite a few years in NYC and now I live in Atlanta, GA. I guess these various regions have had an affect on my cooking/eating style. Mexican food is certainly my comfort food - the more down home the better. Italian is my daily bread. And I love greens, grits and anything made better with Vidalia onions.
This entry was posted in Savory and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

