Banana Walnut Pancakes

 

banana pancakes

 

 

The real fun part to these is the heart shaped pancakes molds I used, but even the round ones are delicious !!  I just adapted a classic whole wheat pancake recipe and added just enough banana and walnut to add oompf and flavor but not chunky or banana bread like.

 

1/2 cup wheat germ

2 cups whole wheat flour

1 tsp baking soda

1 tbls brown sugar

1 tsp salt

2 large eggs

2 1/2 cups milk ( buttermilk, soymilk, 2% milk… it all works)

2 tbls oil

1/2 medium sized banana, chopped to tiny bits

a scant 1/2 cup walnuts, chopped small

Stir together dry ingredients in large mixing bowl.  In separate bowl beat eggs, then add milk and mix together.  Add milk/egg mixture to dry ingredients.  Stir just enough to combine then add oil, chopped banana, and nuts.  Stir just enough to incorporate.

I like to generously oil an iron skillet and heat till you drop a tiny bit of batter on and it starts cooking right away.  Then pour out your spoonfuls of batter to make the size pancakes you prefer.  Wait til the bubbles start to pop then flip to the other side.  I keep my skillet kind of oily so the edges of the pancakes get a tad crispy-fried.  And yes that is ultra tasty.

About sosatisfying

I grew up a vegetarian in So Cal. I lived for quite a few years in NYC and now I live in Atlanta, GA. I guess these various regions have had an affect on my cooking/eating style. Mexican food is certainly my comfort food - the more down home the better. Italian is my daily bread. And I love greens, grits and anything made better with Vidalia onions.
This entry was posted in Sweet and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

