Walnut and Green Raisin Pesto

 

pesto/brucshetta

I came home from the farmers market this morning with a rather huge bunch of fresh basil and a baguette, among other things.  So, pesto seemed the obvious breakfast.  Of course, I didn’t have any pine nuts ( they have become so expensive!) but I did have walnuts so I figured why not?  Well, after blending the garlic, basil , walnuts and oil , I took a taste and the walnuts had left a noticeable bite.  Somewhat bitter.  I decided something sweet should be added to counter the walnut bite and threw in a handful of green raisins.  Blended them in and presto! Absolutely yummy pesto.

bruschetta

I made a few bruschetta toppings, mostly thinly sliced onion and tomato.  Then the cluster of small red grapes drying in the colander caught my eye and the most delicious bruschetta ever was born !

 

bruschetta with red grapews

This made a delicious breakfast !

 

WALNUT & GREEN RAISIN PESTO

1 bunch fresh basil leaves

1/2 cup walnuts

1/2 cup green raisins

2 cloves garlic

1/4 cup olive oil ( a fancy, fruity extra virgin would be perfect but any olive oil on hand is fine)

Put everything in food processor or blender and blend smooth.  You can add more oil or even a splash of water if its too thick.  Salt to taste.  You can add crcked pepper on top of bruschetta when done.

RED GRAPE BRUSCHETTA TOPPING

Very thinly slice sweet white onion and tomato.  Then cut across making a delicate chop as opposed to chunky.  Cut the grapes into quarters or even more if they are big.  Stir in a bowl.  Spread Walnut pesto on toasted baguette or Italian bread and top with grape, onion, tomato topping.

Enjoy !

 

 

About sosatisfying

I grew up a vegetarian in So Cal. I lived for quite a few years in NYC and now I live in Atlanta, GA. I guess these various regions have had an affect on my cooking/eating style. Mexican food is certainly my comfort food - the more down home the better. Italian is my daily bread. And I love greens, grits and anything made better with Vidalia onions.
This entry was posted in Late Night and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

