CHIVES

POTTED CHIVESMy potted chive plant was getting kinda wild so I decided to make up some chive-centric recipes.  These really are So Satisfying.  Chives and cheese… what’s not to like?  But really, take a look at that sandwich ( and the ice cold beer) and tell me you’re not running to the kitchen to make one  : )

chive walnut crackers

 

GOAT CHEESE WITH CHIVE AND WALNUT

INGREDIENTS

Plain Chevre ( It comes in a log so depending on the size of your party …)

finely chopped walnuts

finely cut fresh chives

sea salt

fresh ground pepper

CHEVRE,CHIVE,WALNUT

 

DIRECTIONS

Pretty simple.  Put it all in a bowl and mash together with a fork.

chevre,chive,salt,pepper

I didn’t give exact measurements because it’s so simple and the amounts will depend on how many hors d’oeuvres you are making.  The salt should be slightly coarse for texture and the cracked pepper gives the punch so be generous.

 

GRILLED CHEESE WITH CHIVES AND MUSTARD
GRILLED CHEESE CHIVES

 

INGREDIENTS

sourdough bread

cheddar cheese, grated

fresh chives, snipped about 1/4 inch pieces

mustard of choice ( I use Dijon almost anytime I use mustard.  But that’s me. I think even a coarse grain mustard would work with this).

butter

grilled chz in pan

 

Depending on the size of your bread, grate about 1/2 cup of cheddar per sandwich.  Mix approx 1 tblsp mustard, 1 tblsp cut chives with grsted cheese in a bowl.  Then spread this on one slice of bread.  Melt 1 tblsp butter in skillet and place the open face sandwich in.  Once it’s starts getting melty and bread gets golden put top piece of bread on and flip over.  Once this side is golden the cheese should be deliciously gooey and sandwich is ready to serve ( with ice cold beer?)

gooey grilled chz

 

 

POTATO, CHEDDAR AND CHIVE FRITTATA

CHEDDAR, CHIVE FRITTATA* I made this at around 11p so I served it simple.  If I were serving it for lunch etc I might have put a dab of sour cream on top…

 

INGREDIENTS

2 – 3 eggs slightly beaten

1 red bliss potato par boiled and diced

1 tblsp chopped fresh chives

2 tblsp grated cheddar cheese

1 – 2 tblsp olive oil

sea salt / fresh ground pepper to taste

DIRECTIONS

Heat olive oil in skillet and add potatoes.  Once they are a little golden add the eggs and chives.  Salt and pepper to taste.  The heat should be med-low. Once the egg sets add the cheese.  Cover and turn off heat.  The bottom should be nicely browned and the cheese melted.  Cut into wedges and serve with sour cream, or ketchup…

frittata in pan

* Like I said, I made this late at night and messed up the serving just a bit.  the good thing is it tastes just as good perfectly cut as it does flopped over in the pan… the important part is of  course eating and enjoying !!!

 

About sosatisfying

I grew up a vegetarian in So Cal. I lived for quite a few years in NYC and now I live in Atlanta, GA. I guess these various regions have had an affect on my cooking/eating style. Mexican food is certainly my comfort food - the more down home the better. Italian is my daily bread. And I love greens, grits and anything made better with Vidalia onions.
This entry was posted in Savory and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

