CHEESE & MUSHROOM FLATBREAD

cheezy shroom flatbreadThis picture says it all : perfect late night snack.  I used a health food omega 3 flatbread but a flour tortilla or bottom half of pita would be just as good.  The main thing is to toast both sides before putting on topping so you get a thin crust pizza effect.  15 minutes and you have this gorgeous savory treat.  You can go to bed on this and not feel gross.  I did : )

 

INGREDIENTS

Flatbread, roll up, tortilla or bottom half of pita

olive oil

salt

TOPPING:

olive oil

thin sliced onion ( red, yellow, shallot, scallion – whatever you’ve got)

thin sliced fresh pepper ( once again whatever pepper you have on hand)

mushrooms, chopped ( I used baby portobellas but any mushroom )

grated cheese ( I actually used Jarlsburg because that was all I had.  Of course grated cheddar, Jack or crumbled goat cheese  or feta would all be tasty)

chz n shroom flarbread

DIRECTIONS

Heat a tablespoon or so of olive oil in skillet.  Add onions, peppers and mushrooms.  Fry around till everything is tender but not fried.  You want the mushrooms and onions juicy.

Put pan to the side.

Toast bottom side of bread under the broiler till golden .  Take out and flip over.  Sprinkle top side with olive oil and salt ( if you used pita, the fuzzy side is the top)

Once the oil starts sizzling and bread is getting slightly toasty, take it out and assemble toppings – cheese first.

Put it back under broiler till everything is sizzling and bubbling and cheese is melted.

Top it off with fresh ground black pepper.

Voila !

chz n shroom flatbread

About sosatisfying

I grew up a vegetarian in So Cal. I lived for quite a few years in NYC and now I live in Atlanta, GA. I guess these various regions have had an affect on my cooking/eating style. Mexican food is certainly my comfort food - the more down home the better. Italian is my daily bread. And I love greens, grits and anything made better with Vidalia onions.
This entry was posted in Late Night, Protein, Savory and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

