SHAVED BRUSSELS SPROUT SALAD

brussels sprout slaw

 

These thinly slice Brussels sprouts make a lovely and delicate slaw.  I feel kind of dumb for not thinking of this before since they are sort of   miniature cabbages.  This is a simple little recipe and very tasty.  If you are vegan I don’t think the cheese is that essential to the taste so just omit.

INGREDIENTS

1 1/2 lb Brussels sprouts ( discard any discolored leaves but leave stems intact)

1 cup walnuts ( lightly toasted)

2 tablespoons finely grated Pecorino Romano ( or to taste)

1/4 cup olive oil

3 tablespoons feash lemon juice

DIRECTIONS

Holding each Brussels sprout by stem end, cut into very thin slices.  Toss in a bowl to separate layers.

Lightly crush walnuts with your hands and add to Brussels sprouts along with cheese, oil, and lemon juice, then toss to combine.  Season with pepper.

About sosatisfying

I grew up a vegetarian in So Cal. I lived for quite a few years in NYC and now I live in Atlanta, GA. I guess these various regions have had an affect on my cooking/eating style. Mexican food is certainly my comfort food - the more down home the better. Italian is my daily bread. And I love greens, grits and anything made better with Vidalia onions.
This entry was posted in Raw Veg and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

